Twitter line-up: Matt Kirshen

Picture 72 

Matt Kirshen, who joins the line-up for the first ever live comedy gig on Twitter, is a single, straight Taurean with a sharp, surreal and often sick mind. This much we know from his Myspace page.  He’s a man who’s not afraid to nurture his inner child with an occasional ice cream. This we can see from his Twitter profile pic. So what more is there to know? 

 

  Q:   How did you get involved in the Twitter comedy project?

 A:     Tiernan (Douieb) asked me in a car on the way back from a gig – next thing I know, a date is set and I’m on a press release.

  Q:   If you weren’t a comedian, what would you be?

 A:   I’d be a frustrated, insufferable prick in an office. I get that out of my system on stage.

 Q:   Was there ever a time when you worked in an office?

 A:   Yes, but only temping. That and the toy dept of John Lewis. Best story from there – overhearing middle class toddler: “Mummy, why is that dolly black? Is it because it’s dead?”

 Q:     Guess that would appeal to your “sharp, surreal, often sick mind”. Do you get that from your mother or father’s side?

 A:    I’d say I get my sense of humour from my dad, and things to use it on from my mum.

  Q:     What’s the weirdest heckle you’ve ever had?

 A:     This is cheating as I still mention it onstage, but it’s the genuinely irony free “That’s racist, you Jewish c***”

 Q:   Are you Jewish? If so, how does that affect your humour, does it give you a deep sense of irony?

A:   I’m Jewish by birth but atheist by belief, but there is a rich tradition of Jewish humour, one I hope I won’t sully

 Q:   How about the “post-adolescent cynicism”?

A:   That came from an article by Bruce Dessau about 6 years ago. I’m yet to find out what it means.

 Q:   Is your real persona much different from your comedy persona?

A:   My real persona is shyer, my comedy persona has nicer hair, my 3rd, secret persona dresses as a bear to fight crime.

 Q    What would you say is your greatest success and your greatest failure?

A:     Greatest success is my son. Greatest failure is he came out wrong and has to be locked away from society’s harsh gaze.

 Q:   On your Twitter profile pic, it looks like you’re enjoying that ice cream. What’s your favourite flavour?

A:     Flavor Flav. Delicious…

Twitcom, hosted by Tiernan Douieb, kicks off on Twitter at 8pm on 8 June.

The line-up for the comedy night is:

Mark Watson – @watsoncomedian
Pappy’s Fun Club – @PappysFunClub

Mitch Benn – @MitchBenn

Matt Kirshen – @mattkirshen
Rob Heeney – @robheeney
Carl Donnelly – @carldonnelly

Terry Saunders – @terrysaunders

Gary Delaney – @garydelaney

~ by A_A on May 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
